“Rooftop Thinking” – Tyler Sorrell

I found myself in a dark place,

In front of some bright lights.

I had to take a drive

Just to get my mind right.

I’ve been going through some things,

That don’t nobody know.

I got some demons in my mind,

That I’ve been tryna let go.

Found myself on a rooftop,

Looking for a sign.

No stars in the sky,

The city lights just shine.

Windows down, car off

I’m on airplane mode.

I’m not tryna Hear a voice,

The ones in my head aren’t my own.

I be feeling all alone,

And I swear I’ve made this clear.

They don’t listen – you don’t listen.

Even when you lend the ear.

Distress calls go out,

They say life’s really not that bad.

So tell me why I’m on the rooftop,

Tryna jump like the kriss kross fad.

I’ve been in my mind a lot

There’s not many places I can go.

I’d probably call you,

But I’m not sure how that would go.

I’d probably call her,

But her phone don’t ring.

I’d probably call them,

But that’s not as easy as it seems.

I was going to call Dell,

But he got enough going on.

I should’ve never sent those text,

I wish I could talk to Shawn.

I wish I could talk to SHAM.

Spark a spliff and have a talk.

I wish Arielle was here,

Every step that I walk.

It’s been a minute since I wrote,

Lately I’ve been kicking rhymes.

It’s dangerous in here,

Going through these hard times.

Everyone would tell me chill,

You know that you’ll make it through…

I just hope I make it through,

Before these demons break through.

Leave a comment