“Loving Hellen Keller” by Tyler Sorrell

It was days ago, I must say.
Things seemed perfectly aligned.
It was just an ordinary day.
That’s until a change was assigned.
Unlike every other around, I ran across one beautiful girl.

It was days ago, I must say.
I ran across one beautiful girl.
Her glamour blinded me, and her eyes took me away.
It’s ironic because her eyes were as white as a pearl.
Amazed, yes, amazed is what I am.

It was days ago, I must say.
Her hair blew gentle with the wind.
Appalled I became, for she didn’t give me the time of day.
Only seconds, mili-seconds, of her time is all I wanted her to lend.

It was days ago, I must say.
I approached to speak a word or two.
She spoke none in return.
Nervous I questioned my wording.
Her attention is what I wanted, but what’s there for me to do?

I realized what I had to do.
I tapped her precious shoulder, hoping there wasn’t an alarm.
Within my mind, I scrambled words, practicing my charm.
Her head raised in questions as if she couldn’t see me at all.

I spoke more.
She ignored.
Although, completely furious.
Never did I roar.
Still, my passion for her soared.

I’ve come to realize what I’m against.
She’s merely ignorant.
She knows nothing of the beauty she beholds, to her it didn’t exist.
For her eyes relayed no image.
For her ears relayed no message.

I must say, it was days ago
I admired her true beauty; although I’ve seen her a million times, its something she’ll never.

Leave a comment